An independent bookshop in Knaresborough, North Yorkshire Login / Register

The barrowfields

The barrowfields
Our Price: £8.99

Quantity:


'A beautiful, evocative novel with an amazing sense of place and an understated, dark sensibility. A brilliant debut. I loved it!' Jenni Fagan, author of The Panopticon


Mesmeric in its prose and mythic in its sweep, THE BARROWFIELDS is an extraordinary debut about the darker side of devotion, the limits of forgiveness, and the reparative power of shared pasts.

Just before Henry Aster's birth, his father, a frustrated novelist and lawyer, reluctantly returns to the remote North Carolina mountains in which he was improbably raised and installs his young family in a gothic mansion - nicknamed 'the vulture house' - worthy of his hero Edgar Allan Poe. There, Henry grows up under the desk of this fierce and brilliant man. But when a death in the family tips his father toward a fearsome unravelling, what was once a young son's reverence is poisoned, and Henry flees, not to return until years later when he, too, must go home again.

Product Details

Author:
Phillip Lewis

Publisher:
Sceptre

Format:
Paperback

ISBN:
9781473636842

Publication Date:
11/01/2018

Pages:
400

Availability:
Available, usually dispatched within 7 days

Customer Reviews

There are currently no reviews for this book. Be the first to review by clicking below!


Review this book...

Related Books:

Escape to Cornwall with this gorgeous new series from Phillipa Ashley - perfect for fans of Nicola May and Holly Martin

Summer is on the horizon, and the people of Porthmellow are eagerly awaiting the annual food festival. At least, most of them areā€¦

Our Price: £8.99

x
This website uses cookies. More info. Okay