*** FREE DELIVERY ON ALL UK ORDERS ***
A lesson before dying

A lesson before dying


by Ernest J Gaines ; with a new foreword by Attica Locke
4th June, 2015

£9.99 £9.99 Save 0% | Paperback


Qty

An Oprah Book Club selection Winner of the National Book Critics Circle Award for Fiction Nominated for a Pulitzer Prize In a small Cajun community in the late 1940s, a young black man named Jefferson witnesses a liquor store shootout in which three men are killed. The only survivor, he is convicted of murder and sentenced to death. Gaines explores the deep prejudice of the American South in the tradition of Harper Lee's To Kill A Mockingbird and Toni Morrison's Beloved. A Lesson Before Dying is a richly compassionate and deeply moving novel, the story of a young black man sentenced to death for a murder he did not commit, and a teacher who hopes to ease his burden before the execution.

Details & Specs

Series: Serpent's Tail Classics


Author: Ernest J Gaines


Publisher: Serpent's Tail


Format: Paperback


ISBN: 9781846687860


Publication Date: 4th June, 2015


Pages: 256


Dimensions: 198 x 129 x 16 mm


Availability: Available, usually dispatched within 3 days


Customer Reviews

There are currently no reviews for this book. Be the first to review by clicking below!


Review this book...

Related Books:


x
This website uses cookies. More info. Okay