An independent bookshop in Knaresborough, North Yorkshire Login / Register

Burial rites

Burial rites
Our Price: £8.99

Quantity:


Inspired by a true story, Hannah Kent's Burial Rites was shortlisted for The Baileys Women's Prize for Fiction, The Guardian First Book Award and The International IMPAC Dublin Literary Awards.

In northern Iceland, 1829, Agnes Magn├║sd├│ttir is condemned to death for her part in the brutal murder of her lover.

Agnes is sent to wait out her final months on the farm of district officer J├│n J├│nsson, his wife and their two daughters. Horrified to have a convicted murderer in their midst, the family avoid contact with Agnes. Only T├│ti, the young assistant priest appointed Agnes's spiritual guardian, is compelled to try to understand her. As the year progresses and the hardships of rural life force the household to work side by side, Agnes's story begins to emerge and with it the family's terrible realization that all is not as they had assumed.

Based on actual events, Burial Rites is an astonishing and moving novel about the truths we claim to know and the ways in which we interpret what we're told. In beautiful, cut-glass prose, Hannah Kent portrays Iceland's formidable landscape, in which every day is a battle for survival, and asks, how can one woman hope to endure when her life depends upon the stories told by others?

Burial Rites is perfect for fans of Alias Grace by Margaret Atwood and The Lifeboat by Charlotte Rogan.

Product Details

Author:
Hannah Kent

Publisher:
Picador

Format:
Paperback

ISBN:
9781447233176

Publication Date:
27/02/2014

Pages:
338

Dimensions:
197 x 130 x 24 mm

Notes:
maps (black and white)

Availability:
Available, usually dispatched within 3 days

Customer Reviews

There are currently no reviews for this book. Be the first to review by clicking below!


Review this book...

Related Books:

Underground is an account of the Tokyo subway gas attack in 1995, in which 12 people died, as told to Murakami by the survivors and the Aum cult members responsible for carrying out such an outrage.
Our Price: £10.99

People who purchased this also purchased...

Written by the Whitbread prizewinner Kate Atkinson, 'Human Croquet' is an exhilarating and witty novel which provides an audacious blend of history, Shakespeare, and a hilariously dysfunctional family of eccentrics.
Our Price: £8.99

In February, 2014, Reni Eddo-Lodge wrote about her frustration with the way discussions of race and racism in Britain were constantly being led by those who weren't affected by it. She posted the piece on her blog, and gave it the title: 'Why I'm No Longer Talking to White People about Race'. Her powerful, passionate words hit a nerve. The post wen
Our Price: £8.99

x
This website uses cookies. More info. Okay