An independent bookshop in Knaresborough, North Yorkshire.

War & combat fiction

Sections In War & combat fiction





Products In War & combat fiction (Total Products 624, Showing: 1 -> 50)
Sort By: Title | Publication Date (Newest First) | Price Low to High | Price High to Low


Frankenstein in Baghdad
Our Price: £12.99
A SATIRICAL REIMAGINING OF MARY SHELLEY'S FRANKENSTEIN From the rubble-strewn streets of US-occupied Baghdad, Hadi collects body parts from the de...
To die in Spring
Our Price: £8.99
Winner of the HWA Sharpe Gold Crown for Best Historical Novel 2018'[To Die in Spring] holds its own against [GŁnter] Grass and [Erich Maria] Remarque;...

A legacy of spies
Our Price: £8.09
Chosen as a Book of the Year in The Times Literary Supplement, the Evening Standard, the Daily Telegraph, the Guardian, The Times'A brilliant novel of...
The tattooist of Auschwitz
Our Price: £12.99
For readers of Schindler's List, The Man Who Broke into Auschwitz and The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas comes a heart-breaking story of the very best of ...

Days without end
Our Price: £8.99
Winner of the 2016 Costa Book of the YearWinner of the Walter Scott Prize for Historical Fiction 2017Winner of the Independent Bookshop Week Book Awar...
A whole life
Our Price: £8.99
Shortlisted for the Man Booker International Prize.Andreas lives his whole life in the Austrian Alps, where he arrives as a young boy taken in by a fa...

Pharaoh
Our Price: £7.19
The Worldwide Number One Bestseller Wilbur Smith returns to Ancient Egypt in a captivating new novel that will transport you to extraordinary times.EG...
The book thief
Our Price: £8.99
The New York Times and Sunday Times bestsellerOver one million copies sold in the UK alone'A novel of breathtaking scope' Guardian1939. Nazi Germany. ...

Ship of destiny
Our Price: £9.89
'Even better than the Farseer books. I didn't think that was possible' GEORGE RR MARTINThe triumphant conclusion to the magnificent Liveship Traders s...
Wicked game
Our Price: £8.99
Age is catching up with Robert Finlay, a police officer on the Royalty Protection team based in London. He's looking forward to returning to uniform p...

The diamond throne
Our Price: £9.89
Book One of the classic ELENIUM series introducing the Pandion Knight Sparhawk.After a long exile, Pandion Knight Sparhawk returns to his native land ...
The nowhere man
Our Price: £6.29
That rare thing, a sequel which is better than the original, The Nowhere Man is a thrilling, pulse-pounding ride for readers and the hero of Orphan X....

Crucible of gold
Our Price: £8.99
Naomi Novik's stunning series of novels follow the global adventures of Captain William Laurence and his fighting dragon Temeraire as they are thrown ...
Slaughterhouse-five, or, The children's crusade
Our Price: £8.99
'The great, urgent, passionate American writer of our century, who offers us a model of the kind of compassionate thinking that might yet save us from...

The Silmarillion
Our Price: £8.99
A new B-format edition of this novel, designed to take fans of The Hobbit and The Lord of the Rings deeper into the myths and legends of Middle-earthT...
SS-GB
Our Price: £8.09
In February 1941 British Command surrendered to the Nazis. Churchill has been executed, the King is in the Tower and the SS are in Whitehall.For nine ...

Sharpe's havoc
Our Price: £8.09
A small British army is stranded when the French invade northern Portugal and Lieutenant Richard Sharpe meets the future Duke of Wellington.Sharpe is ...
The sapphire rose
Our Price: £11.69
Book Three of the ELENIUM is fantasy on a truly epic scale, in which the Pandion Knight Sparhawk must finally use the power of the jewel.Sparhawk and ...

Dead edge
Our Price: £7.19
Two explosions at the same time.In two different cities.Ex-US Navy-turned-investigator Thomas J Cooper knows this is no random coincidence. This is a ...
Sharpe's honour
Our Price: £8.99
Major Sharpe finds himself a fugitive, hunted by enemy and ally alike.Major Richard Sharpe awaits the opening shots of the army's campaign with grim e...

All the light we cannot see
Our Price: £8.09
WINNER OF THE 2015 PULITZER PRIZE FOR FICTIONNATIONAL BOOK AWARD FINALISTNEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLERWINNER OF THE CARNEGIE MEDAL FOR FICTIONA beautiful,...
East End Angels
Our Price: £6.99
Meet The East End Angels, the newest members of Station Seventy-Five's ambulance crewStrong-willed Winnie loves being part of the crew at Station Seve...

Behind Iraqi lines
Our Price: £8.99
Ultimate soldier. Ultimate mission. But will the SAS survive the inferno of Operation Desert Storm?August 1990, and Iraqi tanks are rolling into Kuwai...
XPD
Our Price: £8.99
June 11, 1940 - where is Winston Churchill?A private aircraft takes off from a small town in central France, while Adolf Hitler, the would-be conquero...

My name is nobody
Our Price: £7.19
'PROOF THAT THE SPY GENRE IS FLOURISHING IN THE 21ST CENTURY' Guardian'I know for certain that there is a mole somewhere within the intelligence servi...
Paris
Our Price: £9.89
City of love. City of splendour. City of terror. City of dreams.Inspired by the haunting, passionate story of the city of lights, this epic novel weav...

The pagan lord
Our Price: £8.09
The seventh novel in Bernard Cornwell's number one bestselling series on the making of England and the fate of his great hero, Uhtred of Bebbanburg.BB...
Daisy's long road home
Our Price: £8.09
All she's ever wanted is a place to call home1948: Daisy Driscoll is working as a qualified Sister in Brighton. The war may be over, but Daisy's heart...

Darksoul
Our Price: £14.99
The thrilling sequel to GODBLIND, the biggest fantasy debut of 2017.The Wolves lie dead beside Rilpor's soldiers, slaughtered at the hands of the Mire...
The end of the affair
Our Price: £8.99
WITH AN INTRODUCTION BY MONICA ALIThe love affair between Maurice Bendrix and Sarah, flourishing in the turbulent times of the London Blitz, ends when...

Half of a yellow sun
Our Price: £8.99
WINNER OF THE BAILEYS PRIZE BEST OF THE BESTWinner of the Orange Broadband Prize for Fiction 2007, this is a heartbreaking, exquisitely written litera...
Shelter
Our Price: £7.99
An S Magazine MUST HAVE 'Beautiful' Adele Parks 'Life affirming and compelling!' Clare Mackintosh 'Tender and illuminating' Carys Bray 'Its characters...

Stalingrad
Our Price: £25.00
Stalingrad is the prequel to Life and Fate, one of the twentieth century's greatest novels. This is its first publication in English.In April 1942, Hi...
The narrow road to the deep north
Our Price: £8.99
***WINNER OF THE MAN BOOKER PRIZE 2014***Forever after, there were for them only two sorts of men: the men who were on the Line, and the rest of human...

The hunt for Red October
Our Price: £8.09
The runaway international No.1 bestseller that launched Tom Clancy's spectacular career - became a blockbuster film - and introduced Jack Ryan.THE HUN...
The light of other days
Our Price: £9.89
In the most exciting SF collaboration ever, Arthur C. Clarke and his universally acknowledged heir Stephen Baxter pool talent, fantastic ideas, unprec...

The women of the castle
Our Price: £8.99
THE NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER In war they made impossible choices. Now can they live with them? 'Moving . . . surprises and devastates' New York T...
Master and commander
Our Price: £8.99
Set sail for the read of your life .Patrick O'Brian's Aubrey-Maturin tales are widely acknowledged to be the greatest series of historical novels ever...

Dark mind
Our Price: £8.09
The seventh book in this action-packed, New York Times bestselling science fiction series - STAR CARRIER.The civil war might be over, but war for the ...
The draughtsman
Our Price: £13.49
Speak out for the fate of millions or turn a blind eye? We all have choices.'Absolutely exceptional. So beautifully written, with precision and wisdom...

The eagle's prey
Our Price: £8.99
IF YOU DON'T KNOW SIMON SCARROW, YOU DON'T KNOW ROME!THE EAGLE'S PREY is the thrilling fifth novel in Simon Scarrow's bestselling Eagles of the Empire...
An artist of the floating world
Our Price: £8.99
Winner of the Nobel Prize in Literature 2017It is 1948. Japan is rebuilding her cities after the calamity of World War Two, her people putting defeat ...

King of thorns
Our Price: £8.09
The second book in the Broken Empire series, Lawrence takes his young anti-hero one step closer to his grand ambition.To reach greatness you must step...
2017 war with Russia
Our Price: £8.99
A chilling political thriller that is dangerously close to becoming realityAccording to General Sir Richard Shirreff, recently retired Deputy Supreme ...

Star of the north
Our Price: £12.99
'Extraordinary...smart, sophisticated, suspenseful - and important. If you try one new thing this year, make it Star of the North.' LEE CHILD'Tense a...
We fought for Ardnish
Our Price: £8.99
After joining the the Lovat Scouts at the outbreak of the Second World War Donald Angus Gillies is sent on a mission to the Alps, where he meets Franc...

The road between us
Our Price: £13.49
1939: In a hotel room overlooking Piccadilly Circus, two young men are arrested. Charles is court-martialled for 'conduct unbecoming'; Anselm is depor...
Pink mist
Our Price: £8.99
Winner of Wales Book of the Year Pink Mist is a verse-drama about three young soldiers from Bristol who are deployed to Afghanistan. School friends st...

The hidden child
Our Price: £8.09
No. 1 international bestseller and Swedish crime sensation Camilla Lackberg's chilling psychological thriller featuring Detective Patrick Hedstrom and...
On a particular service
Our Price: £17.99
John Pearce is going home. But he has to avoid capture by an Algerine warship, having his Pelicans pressed into a British frigate and that's before they are at risk of being hanged for desertion once home. Then there is the problem of Emily Barclay and their son Adam. By cunning and bluff he protects his friends, but not his troubled love life. In