An independent bookshop in Knaresborough, North Yorkshire.

First World War fiction

Products In First World War fiction (Total Products 84, Showing: 1 -> 20)
Sort By: Title | Publication Date (Newest First) | Price Low to High | Price High to Low


The Kaiser's dawn
Our Price: £9.89
In mid summer 1918 the First World War was still finely balanced. A top secret mission, which has remained classified information for a century, was s...
Fall of giants
Our Price: £8.99
The first in Ken Follett's bestselling Century Trilogy, Fall of Giants is a huge novel that follows five families through the world-shaking dramas of ...

The six loves of Billy Binns
Our Price: £15.29
THE SIX LOVES OF BILLY BINNS is a deeply moving and honest debut set in London against the backdrop of the changing 20th century. it is reading group...
The girl on the cliff
Our Price: £8.09
'Thoroughly addictive storytelling with a moving, emotional heart' Dinah Jeffries A beautiful and captivating drama spanning decades, from the intern...

All quiet on the Western Front
Our Price: £8.09
Discover the most famous anti-war novel ever written ...
The man from St Petersburg
Our Price: £8.99
The Man From St Petersburg is a dark tale of family secrets and political consequences. Ken Follett's masterful storytelling brings to life the danger...

War and turpentine
Our Price: £9.99
WINNER OF THE VONDEL PRIZE 2017 LONGLISTED FOR THE 2017 MAN BOOKER INTERNATIONAL PRIZE Selected as a Book of the Year 2016 in The Times, Sunday Times ...
The lie
Our Price: £8.09
Nominated for the Folio Prize and shortlisted for the Walter Scott Prize for Historial Fiction, and the Royal Society of Literature Ondaatje Prize.Set...

The ferry girls
Our Price: £18.89
A young German girl finds friendship, camaraderie and even love while working on Gosport's ferries in the height of World War 2 - but will her new fri...
Rebel sisters
Our Price: £8.09
THE NUMBER ONE BESTSELLER, SHORTLISTED FOR THE 2016 IRISH BOOK AWARDSWith the threat of the First World War looming, tension simmers under the surface...

The clocks in this house all tell different times
Our Price: £8.09
Shortlisted for the 2017 Costa First Novel AwardShortlisted for the Authors' Club Best First Novel Award 2018Longlisted for the Desmond Elliott Prize ...
Jill
Our Price: £8.99
'It will, I hope, still qualify for the indulgence traditionally extended to juvenilia,' wrote Philip Larkin, almost twenty years after the publicatio...

A farewell to arms
Our Price: £7.99
In 1918 Ernest Hemingway went to war, to the 'war to end all wars'. He volunteered for ambulance service in Italy, was wounded and twice decorated. Ou...

Wake
Our Price: £8.99
'Powerful and humane, a novel that charms and beguiles' Sadie Jones, bestselling author of THE SNAKESA heart-breaking historical tale of love and hope...
The toy makers
Our Price: £8.99
Do you remember when you believed in magic?An enchanting, magical novel set in a mysterious toyshop - perfect for fans of Erin Morgenstern's The Night...

Toby's room
Our Price: £8.09
From the Booker Prize-winning and Women's Prize-shortlisted author of The Silence of the Girls The second novel in Pat Barker's acclaimed 'Life Class'...
The summer before the war
Our Price: £8.09
It is late summer in East Sussex, 1914. Amidst the season's splendour, fiercely independent Beatrice Nash arrives in the coastal town of Rye to fill a...

Birdsong
Our Price: £8.09
Birdsong is a mesmerising story of love and war spanning three generations between WW1 and present day.THE SUNDAY TIMES BESTSELLER1910. Amiens, Northe...
House of gold
Our Price: £8.09
Perfect for fans of THE TEA PLANTER'S WIFE and A GENTLEMAN IN MOSCOW'This has everything - engaging characters, a thrilling story and beautiful scener...