An independent bookshop in Knaresborough, North Yorkshire.

First World War fiction

Products In First World War fiction (Total Products 82, Showing: 1 -> 20)
Sort By: Title | Publication Date (Newest First) | Price Low to High | Price High to Low


The Kaiser's dawn
Our Price: £9.89
In mid summer 1918 the First World War was still finely balanced. A top secret mission, which has remained classified information for a century, was s...
The six loves of Billy Binns
Our Price: £15.29
THE SIX LOVES OF BILLY BINNS is a deeply moving and honest debut set in London against the backdrop of the changing 20th century. it is reading group...

The girl on the cliff
Our Price: £8.09
'Thoroughly addictive storytelling with a moving, emotional heart' Dinah Jeffries A beautiful and captivating drama spanning decades, from the intern...
Birdsong
Our Price: £8.99
Birdsong is a mesmerising story of love and war spanning three generations between WW1 and present day.THE SUNDAY TIMES BESTSELLER1910. Amiens, Northe...

The ferry girls
Our Price: £18.89
A young German girl finds friendship, camaraderie and even love while working on Gosport's ferries in the height of World War 2 - but will her new fri...
All quiet on the Western Front
Our Price: £8.99
One by one the boys begin to fall...In 1914 a room full of German schoolboys, fresh-faced and idealistic, are goaded by their schoolmaster to troop of...

Toby's room
Our Price: £8.09
From the Booker Prize-winning and Women's Prize-shortlisted author of The Silence of the Girls The second novel in Pat Barker's acclaimed 'Life Class'...
The summer before the war
Our Price: £8.09
It is late summer in East Sussex, 1914. Amidst the season's splendour, fiercely independent Beatrice Nash arrives in the coastal town of Rye to fill a...

The poppy girls
Our Price: £6.99
The Poppy Girls is the first title in The Maitland Trilogy, by bestselling author Margaret Dickinson.Even amidst the horror of the trenches, friendshi...
War is over
Our Price: £9.89
From the bestselling, award-winning author of SKELLIG comes a vivid and moving story, beautifully illustrated, which commemorates the hundred-year a...

The promise
Our Price: £8.09
Taking you on a breathtaking journey into the battlefields of the First World War, The Promise is a heartbreaking, enduring and masterfully told story...
Regeneration
Our Price: £8.09
The devastating modern classic of contemporary war fiction from Women's Prize-shortlisted author of The Silence of the GirlsRegeneration is the first ...

The lie
Our Price: £8.09
Nominated for the Folio Prize and shortlisted for the Walter Scott Prize for Historial Fiction, and the Royal Society of Literature Ondaatje Prize.Set...
Life class
Our Price: £8.09
From the Booker Prize-winning and Women's Prize-shortlisted author of The Silence of the Girls The first novel in Pat Barker's acclaimed 'Life Class' ...

The ghost road
Our Price: £8.09
The Booker Prize-winning final novel in Pat Barker's classic 'Regeneration' trilogy - from the acclaimed author of The Silence of the Girls'An extraor...
Under fire
Our Price: £8.99
A searing, unflinchingly realist novel about life at war, written during the First World War'Men are made to be husbands, fathers - men, in short! Not...

Rebel sisters
Our Price: £11.69
Published for the 100th anniversary of the Easter Rising, Rebel Sisters is the Number One Irish bestseller from award-winning novelist Marita Conlon-M...
A farewell to arms
Our Price: £8.99
In 1918, Ernest Hemingway went to war.He volunteered for ambulance service in Italy, was wounded and twice decorated. Out of his experience came A Far...

The toy makers
Our Price: £8.99
Do you remember when you believed in magic?An enchanting, magical novel set in a mysterious toyshop - perfect for fans of Erin Morgenstern's The Night...
The prisoner's defence and other First World War stories
Our Price: £8.09
Thousands of short stories were published during World War I, which coincided with the heyday of the fiction magazine in Britain. Much of this materia...