An independent bookshop in Knaresborough, North Yorkshire.

Second World War fiction

Products In Second World War fiction (Total Products 213, Showing: 1 -> 50)
Sort By: Title | Publication Date (Newest First) | Price Low to High | Price High to Low


To die in Spring
Our Price: £8.99
Winner of the HWA Sharpe Gold Crown for Best Historical Novel 2018'[To Die in Spring] holds its own against [GŁnter] Grass and [Erich Maria] Remarque;...
The catcher in the rye
Our Price: £8.99
Witty, wise and bittersweet, The Catcher in the Rye is the ultimate American coming-of-age novel - a timeless classic 'If you really want to hear abou...

The Nightingale Christmas show
Our Price: £8.99
THE BRAND NEW NIGHTINGALES NOVELBY SUNDAY TIMES BESTSELLING AUTHOR DONNA DOUGLAS***It's Christmas, 1945. The war is over, but its scars remain. Matron...
Slaughterhouse-five, or, The children's crusade
Our Price: £8.99
'The great, urgent, passionate American writer of our century, who offers us a model of the kind of compassionate thinking that might yet save us from...

Only time will tell
Our Price: £7.19
The Clifton Chronicles is Jeffrey Archer's most ambitious work in four decades as an international bestselling author. The epic tale of Harry Clifton'...
SS-GB
Our Price: £8.09
In February 1941 British Command surrendered to the Nazis. Churchill has been executed, the King is in the Tower and the SS are in Whitehall.For nine ...

Dear Mrs Bird
Our Price: £11.69
The Richard & Judy Book Club Pick and Sunday Times Bestseller'Funny, fresh, and touching, Dear Mrs Bird is a treat of a read.' Annie Barrows, auth...
XPD
Our Price: £8.99
June 11, 1940 - where is Winston Churchill?A private aircraft takes off from a small town in central France, while Adolf Hitler, the would-be conquero...

Munich
Our Price: £11.69
FROM THE BESTSELLING AUTHOR OF FATHERLAND, CONCLAVE AND AN OFFICER AND A SPY.September 1938Hitler is determined to start a war.Chamberlain is desperat...
The end of the affair
Our Price: £8.99
WITH AN INTRODUCTION BY MONICA ALIThe love affair between Maurice Bendrix and Sarah, flourishing in the turbulent times of the London Blitz, ends when...

Shelter
Our Price: £7.99
An S Magazine MUST HAVE 'Beautiful' Adele Parks 'Life affirming and compelling!' Clare Mackintosh 'Tender and illuminating' Carys Bray 'Its characters...
The book thief
Our Price: £8.99
The New York Times and Sunday Times bestsellerOver one million copies sold in the UK alone'A novel of breathtaking scope' Guardian1939. Nazi Germany. ...

Hothouse flower
Our Price: £8.99
'Atmospheric, heart-rending and multi-layered' GraziaFrom the Number One internationally bestselling author of The Butterfly Room & The Moon Siste...
Munich
Our Price: £8.99
MUNICH, SEPTEMBER 1938Hitler is determined to start a war. Chamberlain is desperate to preserve the peace.They will meet in a city which forever after...

Red sky at noon
Our Price: £15.29
'An epic adventure story set against the most awful war in history. Ridiculously good' Dan Snow'The black earth was already baking and the sun was jus...
Munich
Our Price: £18.00
FROM THE BESTSELLING AUTHOR OF FATHERLAND, CONCLAVE AND AN OFFICER AND A SPY.September 1938Hitler is determined to start a war.Chamberlain is desperat...

Red sky at noon
Our Price: £8.99
'An epic adventure story set against the most awful war in history. Ridiculously good' Dan Snow'The black earth was already baking and the sun was jus...
Schindler's ark
Our Price: £8.99
REISSUED AS A SCEPTRE 30TH CLASSIC, with a new afterword by the author.In the shadow of Auschwitz, a flamboyant German industrialist grew into a livin...

War and turpentine
Our Price: £9.99
WINNER OF THE VONDEL PRIZE 2017 LONGLISTED FOR THE 2017 MAN BOOKER INTERNATIONAL PRIZE Selected as a Book of the Year 2016 in The Times, Sunday Times ...
Testament
Our Price: £14.99
*Longlisted for the Desmond Elliot Prize * Winner of the Bath Novel Award * Shortlisted for the Author's Club Best First Novel Award *'What a writer. ...

The temporary gentleman
Our Price: £8.99
From the bestselling author of The Secret Scripture, a heartbreaking story of lost love. Jack McNulty, a former UN observer, has worked around the wo...
Old baggage
Our Price: £14.99
'The work of a novelist in her prime' Daily Telegraph'Wise and witty' Sarah Hughes, Observer'Essential . . . Evans is a brilliant storyteller' Stylist...

In the shadow of wolves
Our Price: £12.99
As the Russians advance into East Prussia, women and children are forced out of their homes to make way for the victorious troops. Their fight for s...
The Partisan heart
Our Price: £12.99
An enthralling story of love and betrayal, weaving superbly between 1999 and 1944, between Britain and the Italian Alps. The death of his wife has le...

The sky above us
Our Price: £8.99
Numbed by grief and harboring shameful secrets, Lt. Adler Paxton ships to England with the US 357th Fighter Group in 1943. Determined to become an ace...
The lady from Zagreb
Our Price: £8.09
'One of the greatest anti-heroes ever written' LEE CHILDSummer 1942. When Bernie Gunther is ordered to speak at an international police conference, an...

Breakout at Stalingrad
Our Price: £9.00
'One of the greatest novels of the Second World War' The Times. 'A remarkable find' Antony Beevor. 'A masterpiece' Mail on Sunday. Stalingrad, Novembe...
The heat of the day
Our Price: £9.99
It is wartime London, and the carelessness of people with no future flows through the evening air. Stella discovers that her lover Robert is suspected...

Moon tiger
Our Price: £8.99
**SHORTLISTED FOR THE GOLDEN MAN BOOKER PRIZE** Claudia Hampton - beautiful, famous, independent, dying.But she remains defiant to the last, telling h...
Always in my heart
Our Price: £8.99
THE FIFTH CLIFFEHAVEN NOVEL BY SUNDAY TIMES BESTSELLING AUTHOR ELLIE DEANUnited by love, separated by war . . .As the Japanese begin their assault on ...

Everyone Brave Is Forgiven
Our Price: £6.29
'Ian McEwan did this with Atonement, Sarah Waters did it with The Night Watch, and Chris Cleave does it too with Everyone Brave is Forgiven... A compe...
The women of the castle
Our Price: £8.99
THE NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER In war they made impossible choices. Now can they live with them? 'Moving . . . surprises and devastates' New York T...

Berlin red
Our Price: £7.99
April, 1945.East of Berlin, the Red Army stands poised to unleash its final assault upon the ruined capital of Hitler's Thousand Year Reich.To the nor...
The munitions girls
Our Price: £6.29
An enthralling, eventful WW2 saga from the popular writer of the Daisy Lane novels - perfect for fans of Daisy Styles. 1943, Gosport, Hampshire. Pixie...

An artist of the floating world
Our Price: £8.99
Winner of the Nobel Prize in Literature 2017It is 1948. Japan is rebuilding her cities after the calamity of World War Two, her people putting defeat ...
Where the heart lies
Our Price: £8.99
THE FOURTH CLIFFEHAVEN NOVEL BY SUNDAY TIMES BESTSELLING AUTHOR ELLIE DEANFebruary 1941. Can love survive in a time of war? Julie Harris is working in...

The runaway family
Our Price: £17.09
THE RUNAWAY FAMILY was previously published as EVIL ON THE WIND. From bestselling author Diney Costeloe, a gritty drama about a mother's struggle to p...
Mudbound
Our Price: £8.99
NOW A MAJOR MOTION PICTURE STARRING CAREY MULLIGAN, GARRETT HEDLUND & MARY J. BLIGEWhen Henry McAllan moves his city-bred wife, Laura, to a cotton...

Night flight to Paris
Our Price: £13.49
'Page-turning and gritty' DAILY MAIL. It is 1943 and for agents of the Special Operations Executive, a mission to Nazi-occupied Paris is a death sente...
Testament
Our Price: £8.99
'Captivating' Heather Morris 'Beautiful' Andrew Miller 'Hugely poignant' Independent 'Moving' Sunday TimesLonglisted for the Desmond Elliot Prize * Wi...

Fatherland
Our Price: £8.99
Fatherland is set in an alternative world where Hitler has won the Second World War. It is April 1964 and one week before Hitler's 75th birthday. Xavi...
The cruel sea
Our Price: £8.09
Based on the author's own vivid experiences, The Cruel Sea is the nail-biting story of the crew of HMS Compass Rose, a corvette assigned to protect co...

Nightmare in Berlin
Our Price: £8.99
An unforgettable portrayal of the physical and psychological devastation wrought in the homeland by Hitler's war. April, 1945. The war is over, yet D...
The seventh cross
Our Price: £8.99
'It was [Seghers] who taught my generation and anyone who had an ear to listen after that not-to-be-forgotten war to distinguish right from wrong. T...

Between the regions of kindness
Our Price: £8.99
Coventry, 1941. The morning after one of the worst nights of the Blitz. Twenty-two-year-old Rose enters the remains of a bombed house to find her best...
The boy made of snow
Our Price: £13.49
'THE BOY MADE OF SNOW had me compulsively turning the pages to find out the fate of Daniel and his mother. A haunting and thrilling read. I absolute...

The murderer in ruins
Our Price: £8.99
SHORTLISTED FOR THE CWA INTERNATIONAL DAGGER AWARD 2016 Hamburg, 1947. A ruined city occupied by the British who bombed it, experiencing the coldest w...
The last of our kind
Our Price: £13.49
'A word of advice: don't start reading this page-turner at bedtime, or you'll be staying up all night.' Psychologies, France WINNER OF THE GRAND PRIX ...

Night in the front line and other Second World War stories
Our Price: £8.99
World War II sparked the writing of hundreds of short stories, by servicemen and women as well as civilians. They appeared in magazines and collection...
The thin red line
Our Price: £8.99
'Moves so intensely and inexorably that it almost seems like the war it is describing' The New York Times Book Review'Is it really worth it to die, t...