An independent bookshop in Knaresborough, North Yorkshire.

Second World War fiction

Products In Second World War fiction (Total Products 239, Showing: 1 -> 20)
Sort By: Title | Publication Date (Newest First) | Price Low to High | Price High to Low


To die in Spring
Our Price: £8.09
Winner of the HWA Sharpe Gold Crown for Best Historical Novel 2018'[To Die in Spring] holds its own against [G?nter] Grass and [Erich Maria] Remarque;...
The catcher in the rye
Our Price: £8.09
Witty, wise and bittersweet, The Catcher in the Rye is the ultimate American coming-of-age novel - a timeless classic 'If you really want to hear abou...

A hero in France
Our Price: £8.99
Spring, 1941. Britain is losing the war. Paris is occupied by the Nazis, dark and silent at night. But when the clouds part, and moonlight floods the...
Charlotte Gray
Our Price: £8.99
A remarkable story of a Scottish woman in Occupied France pursuing a perilous mission of her own FROM THE AUTHOR OF THE INTERNATIONAL BESTSELLER BIRDS...

Slaughterhouse-five, or, The children's crusade
Our Price: £8.99
'The great, urgent, passionate American writer of our century, who offers us a model of the kind of compassionate thinking that might yet save us from...
Crooked heart
Our Price: £7.99
When Noel Bostock - aged ten, no family - is evacuated from London to escape the Blitz, he winds up in St Albans with Vera Sedge - thiry-six, drowning...

The end of the affair
Our Price: £8.99
WITH AN INTRODUCTION BY MONICA ALIThe love affair between Maurice Bendrix and Sarah, flourishing in the turbulent times of the London Blitz, ends when...
Finisterre
Our Price: £7.99
'Liked this. Went someway to plugging the ginormous hole that Philip Kerr's sad passing has left in my life' DERMOT O'LEARY. Germany, October 1944: Do...

The death of the Fronsac
Our Price: £8.09
A STORY OF SABOTAGE, BETRAYAL AND THE TERRIBLE SADNESS OF EXILE. 'Remarkable'The Times. 'A magnificent novel'The Times. 'Gripping'The Spectator. Scotl...
Dear Mrs Bird
Our Price: £11.69
The Richard & Judy Book Club Pick and Sunday Times Bestseller'Funny, fresh, and touching, Dear Mrs Bird is a treat of a read.' Annie Barrows, auth...

The six loves of Billy Binns
Our Price: £15.29
THE SIX LOVES OF BILLY BINNS is a deeply moving and honest debut set in London against the backdrop of the changing 20th century. it is reading group...
The women of the castle
Our Price: £8.99
THE NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER In war they made impossible choices. Now can they live with them? 'Moving . . . surprises and devastates' New York T...

Enigma
Our Price: £8.99
Bletchley Park: the top-secret landmark of World War Two, where a group of young people were fighting to defeat Hitler, and win the war. March 1943, t...
Mussolini's island
Our Price: £8.09
SHORTLISTED FOR THE BETTY TRASK AWARDSHORTLISTED FOR THE HWA DEBUT CROWNLONGLISTED FOR THE POLARI FIRST NOVEL PRIZESarah Day's MUSSOLINI'S ISLAND is a...

XPD
Our Price: £8.99
June 11, 1940 - where is Winston Churchill?A private aircraft takes off from a small town in central France, while Adolf Hitler, the would-be conquero...
Catch-22
Our Price: £9.99
WITH AN INTRODUCTION BY HOWARD JACOBSONExplosive, subversive, wild and funny, 50 years on the novel's strength is undiminished. Reading Joseph Heller'...

The nightingale
Our Price: £8.09
The New York Times number one bestselling title. Vivid and exquisite in its illumination of a time and place that was filled with atrocities, but also...
Pied piper
Our Price: £9.99
Nevil Shute's classic Second World War novel is an uplifting, satisfying and moving story.John Howard is determined to brighten up his old age by taki...

Island in the East
Our Price: £7.19
***THE EBOOK BESTSELLER***Perfect for fans of Lucinda Riley, Dinah Jefferies, Victoria Hislop and Lucy Foley. Two great loves. One shattering betrayal...
Munich
Our Price: £11.69
FROM THE BESTSELLING AUTHOR OF FATHERLAND, CONCLAVE AND AN OFFICER AND A SPY.September 1938Hitler is determined to start a war.Chamberlain is desperat...