An independent bookshop in Knaresborough, North Yorkshire Login / Register

Narrative theme: Social issues

Products In Narrative theme: Social issues (Total Products 326, Showing: 1 -> 20)
Sort By: Title | Publication Date (Newest First) | Price Low to High | Price High to Low


The Sparsholt affair
Our Price: £8.99
In October 1940, the handsome young David Sparsholt arrives in Oxford. A keen athlete and oarsman, he at first seems unaware of the effect he has on o...
The water cure
Our Price: £12.99
'A gripping, sinister fable' - MARGARET ATWOOD, via Twitter'An extraordinary debut novel. Otherworldly, luminous, precise... She is writing the way th...

You think it, I'll say it
Our Price: £16.99
SHORTLISTED FOR THE 2018 SUNDAY TIMES EFG SHORT STORY AWARD: 'Do-Over', one of the stories in this dazzling, smart and razor-sharp first collection by...
The power
Our Price: £8.99
WINNER OF THE WOMEN'S PRIZE FOR FICTIONONE OF BARACK OBAMA'S BEST BOOKS OF 2017'Electrifying' Margaret Atwood'A big, page-turning, thought-provoking t...

A state of freedom
Our Price: £8.99
Longlisted for the DSC Prize for South Asian LiteratureWhat happens when we attempt to exchange the life we are given for something better? Five peopl...
The handmaid's tale
Our Price: £8.99
** THE SUNDAY TIMES NO. 1 BESTSELLER **Discover the dystopian novel that started a phenomenon before you read the Booker Prize-winning sequel The Tes...

The secret life of bees
Our Price: £8.99
DON'T MISS THE EXTRAORDINARY NEW NOVEL FROM SUE MONK KIDD, THE BOOK OF LONGINGS - PUBLISHED ON 21ST APRIL 2020, AND AVAILABLE TO PRE-ORDER NOWThe Sec...
The handmaid's tale
Our Price: £14.99
** THE SUNDAY TIMES NO. 1 BESTSELLER **Discover the dystopian novel behind the award-winning TV series in this beautiful gift edition.'I believe in th...

Home
Our Price: £12.99
AS FEATURED ON 'THIS TIME NEXT YEAR' on ITV1 Heart-stopping. A need to read novel. Kit de Waal, author of My Name is LeonA brave, important, heart-br...
Cherry
Our Price: £8.99
Hammered out on a prison typewriter, Cherry marks the arrival of a raw, bleakly hilarious, and surprisingly poignant voice straight from the dark hear...

Don't turn around
Our Price: £14.99
An addictive, fast-paced thriller that will keep you on the edge of your seat. Perfect for fans of LISA GARDNER and CLARE MACKINTOSH. 'A novel like r...
Graceland
Our Price: £8.99
What if your son was the King of Rock 'n' Roll?From the moment she first holds him, Gladys Presley loves her son Elvis ferociously. She is the one by ...

Victory
Our Price: £8.99
**SHORTLISTED FOR THE RATHBONES FOLIO PRIZE 2020**Two timely novellas exploring male sexual violence, power and corruption'Victory makes a convincing ...
Her kind
Our Price: £8.99
'Gripping ... a story of loss, ambition, misogyny, family love and what it means to belong ... evocative and atmospheric' Irish Times1324, Kilkennie: ...

Death in spring
Our Price: £8.99
'Soaringly beautiful, urgent and disturbing... A masterpiece.' Colm Tóibìn, from the introduction'Dark and beautiful and brilliant' Sarah Moss, auth...
Sula
Our Price: £8.99
'Extravagantly beautiful... Enormously, achingly alive... A howl of love and rage, playful and funny as well as hard and bitter' New York Times As yo...

A Christmas carol
Our Price: £4.99
  A beautiful edition of the classic tale, Oliver Twist. Ebenezer Scrooge is a miserly and mean-spirited old man. He...
On the bright side
Our Price: £12.99
'A funny but also touching diary praised for its wit and realism' BBC Radio 4 Front RowThe Old-But-Not-Dead Club return, in the sequel to the INTERNAT...

Freedom
Our Price: £3.50
Can we ever be wholly free? In this book of breathtaking imaginary leaps that conjure dystopias and magical islands, Margaret Atwood holds a mirror up...
Girl, woman, other
Our Price: £8.99
BRITISH BOOK AWARDS AUTHOR & FICTION BOOK OF THE YEAR 2020 WINNER OF THE BOOKER PRIZE 2019THE SUNDAY TIMES 1# BESTSELLER'The most absorbing book I...

x
This website uses cookies. More info. Okay