An independent bookshop in Knaresborough, North Yorkshire. Sign Up Login

Cultural studies: food & society

Products In Cultural studies: food & society (Total Products 116, Showing: 1 -> 20)
Sort By: Title | Publication Date (Newest First) | Price Low to High | Price High to Low


The story of food
Our Price: £20.00
Explore the rich stories, symbolism, and traditions that come wrapped up in the food on our plates - food that not only feeds our bodies but also makes up our culture. In 'The Story of Food' our millennia-old relationship with nearly 200 foods is sumptuously illustrated, with tales from all over the world - from nuts and seeds to noodles and meat.
How not to die
Our Price: £9.99
The International Bestseller'Dr Michael Greger reveals the foods that will help you live longer' Daily Mail'This book may help those who are susceptib...

Pie and mash down the Roman Road
Our Price: £18.99
SHORTLISTED FOR THE HWA NON-FICTION CROWN, THE ANDR? SIMON FOOD BOOK AWARDS AND THE FORTNUM & MASON BOOK AWARDS'Filled with hearty goodness and pa...
Bella figura
Our Price: £14.99
In 2008, Kamin Mohammadi found herself worn down - by the increasingly unrealistic expectations of her high-flying job in the magazine industry, by he...

The secret life of cows
Our Price: £9.99
****A Sunday Times bestseller******A Times Book of the Year 2017***WITH A FOREWORD BY ALAN BENNETT'A lovely, thoughtful little book about the intellig...
Eating animals
Our Price: £9.99
To reduce risk of pandemics for ourselves, our gaze needs to turn to the health of animals. From the bestselling author of the essential new 2019 book...

The art of natural cheesemaking
Our Price: £27.50
Including more than 35 step-by-step recipes from the Black Sheep School of Cheesemaking Most DIY cheesemaking books are hard to follow, complicated, ...
The woman who wanted more
Our Price: £7.99
A perfect foodie novel with plenty of bite - ideal for fans of Joanna Cannon, Libby Page and Gail Honeyman. Two women. One unusual cookbook. And a ...

Dictionary of Japanese food
Our Price: £10.99
Nominated for the Glenfiddich Food Book of the Year Award, this timeless volume is the first and only book of its kind on the subject.A Dictionary of ...
A new book of Middle Eastern food
Our Price: £25.00
'Meticulously collected, compellingly assembled, lovingly told ... informative, delectable and incredibly useful' Yotam OttolenghiClaudia Roden's A Bo...

Transforming food waste into a resource
Our Price: £24.99
An estimated 50% of the food produced worldwide is wasted. If the entire world had the same voracious appetite as Europeans, it would take three plane...
Eat up!
Our Price: £12.99
TOP TEN SUNDAY TIMES BESTSELLER Think about that first tickle of hunger in your stomach. A moment ago, you could have been thinking about anything, ...

Letter to a Young Farmer
Our Price: £13.99
For more than four decades, the self-described contrary farmer and writer Gene Logsdon has commented on the state of American agriculture. In Letter...
The Life Negroni
Our Price: £20.00
Discover the best way to appreciate aperitivo, according to the expert in Milan. A glamorous tour of La Dolce Vita in the spirit of a cocktail.

Pig
Our Price: £18.99
'Anyone who has any interest in what we eat, how we produce it or how we should manage the landscape for our children should read this book' Monty Don...
The fate of food
Our Price: £16.99
Is the future of food looking bleak - or better than ever? At a time when every day brings news of drought and famine, Amanda Little investigates wha...

Danish cookbooks
Our Price: £22.99
Cookbooks tell stories. They open up the worlds in which the people who wrote and read them once lived. In the hands of a good historian, cookbooks can be shown to contain the markings of political, social, and ideological changes that we conventionally locate outside the kitchen. Over time, cookbooks allow us to trace the course of empires, of soc
Food anatomy
Our Price: £12.99
Get your recommended daily allowance of facts and fun with Food Anatomy, the third book in Julia Rothman's best-selling Anatomy series. She starts wit...

Food
Our Price: £22.00
When did we first serve meals at regular hours? Why did we begin using individual plates and utensils to eat? When did cuisine become a concept and ...
The fermented man
Our Price: £9.99
On a cold new year's day, homebrewer and writer Derek Dellinger began a journey that changed everything he thought he knew about fermented food and dr...

x
This website uses cookies. More info. Okay