An independent bookshop in Knaresborough, North Yorkshire.

Child abuse

Products In Child abuse (Total Products 89, Showing: 1 -> 20)
Sort By: Title | Publication Date (Newest First) | Price Low to High | Price High to Low


Survivor
Our Price: £6.99
Victim. Prostitute. Gangster's Wife. Survivor.Tara grew up in squalor on the island of Alderney. When she was only four, she was sexually abused by on...
Never mind
Our Price: £7.19
Winner of the Betty Trask Award, Never Mind is the first in Edward St Aubyn's semi-autobiographical Patrick Melrose novels, adapted for TV for Sky Atl...

Effective child protection
Our Price: £26.99
'Effective Child Protection is a significant contribution to child welfare practice and policy...Munro offers a pathway to achieving better outcomes f...
Teacher's pet
Our Price: £6.99
'He manipulated me by making me feel special . then duped me into thinking I was to blame.' Hayley was just 12 when she met Mr Willson, the new drama ...

Just a child
Our Price: £8.99
Sammy Woodhouse was just 14 when she met Arshid Hussain. Ten years older, he promised to take care of her. Sammy thought she was in love, but in reali...
That lightbulb moment
Our Price: £8.99
After his idyllic childhood on the Bournemouth coast was shattered by sexual abuse and drug dependence, Paul saw no other way to escape the pressures ...

The fact of a body
Our Price: £8.99
'Part memoir, part true crime, wholly brilliant.' - Paula Hawkins, author of The Girl on the Train.When law student Alexandria Marzano-Lesnevich is as...
A long way from home
Our Price: £8.09
The true story of 2 year-old Anna, abandoned by her natural parents, left alone in a neglected orphanage.Elaine and Ian had travelled half way round t...

Too scared to cry and other true stories from the nation's favourite foster carer
Our Price: £7.19
A heartbreaking and inspiring collection of true fostering stories perfect for fans of Cathy Glass and Rosie Lewis. Contains previously published sto...
The Patrick Melrose novels. Volume 2
Our Price: £8.99
Patrick Melrose Volume 2 contains the final two novels in Edward St Aubyn's BAFTA award-winning Emmy nominated semi-autobiographical series, filmed fo...

Stiff upper lip
Our Price: £8.99
'A brave and necessary book' GUARDIAN'Shocking, gripping and sobering' SUNDAY TELEGRAPHNo other society sends its young boys and girls away to school ...
Lost child
Our Price: £7.19
From Torey Hayden, the number one Sunday Times bestselling author of One Child comes Lost Girl, a poignant and deeply moving account of a lost little ...

Working with children and young people who have displayed harmful sexual behaviour
Our Price: £22.46
Approximately one third of child sexual abuse is carried out by children and young people themselves. There is growing public awareness of this issue ...
The girl who wanted to belong
Our Price: £7.19
Lucy is eight years old and ends up in foster care after being abandoned by her mum and kicked out by her new stepmother. Two aunties and then her elderly grandmother take her in but it seems nobody can cope with Lucy's disruptive behaviour. Social Services hope a stay with experienced foster carer Angela will help Lucy settle down. She misses her

Trafficked girl
Our Price: £7.19
When Zoe was taken into care at the age of 13, she thought she was finally going to escape from the cruel abuse she had suffered throughout her childh...
Will you love me?
Our Price: £8.09
The eleventh memoir and latest title from the internationally bestselling author and foster carer Cathy Glass. This book tells the true story of Cathy...

The hospital
Our Price: £7.99
The Sunday Times top ten bestseller... 'Nobody knew what was going on behind those doors. We were human toys. Just a piece of meat for someone to pl...
Tainted love
Our Price: £6.99
In her previous book,Hackney Child, Hope Daniels told her powerful story of survival as a child of alcoholic parents. In Tainted Love, she brings toge...

Playland
Our Price: £8.99
Travelling to the big city to escape The Troubles in his native Northern Ireland, Anthony Daly accepted a job in Foyles Bookshop and began a new life in England. However, his naivety saw him quickly fall foul of predators, looking for young men to blackmail and sexually exploit. After years of hiding the secret of his abuse at the hands of some of
You all grow up and leave me
Our Price: £18.00
Piper Weiss was fourteen-years-old when her middle-aged tennis coach, Gary Wilensky, one of New York City's most prestigious private instructors, kill...