An independent bookshop in Knaresborough, North Yorkshire Sign Up Login

c 1500 onwards to present day

Sections In c 1500 onwards to present day







Products In c 1500 onwards to present day (Total Products 193, Showing: 1 -> 20)
Sort By: Title | Publication Date (Newest First) | Price Low to High | Price High to Low


1001 Inventions
Our Price: £17.99
1001 Inventions provides unique insight into a significant time period in Muslim history that has been looked over by much of the world. A time where ...
1666
Our Price: £9.99
1666 was a watershed year for England. The outbreak of the Great Plague, the eruption of the second Dutch War and the Great Fire of London all struck ...

1759
Our Price: £10.99
Although 1759 is not a date as well known in British history as 1215, 1588, or 1688, there is a strong case to be made that it is the most significant...
500 reflections on the RCP, 1518-2018. Book 8
Our Price: £12.00
The Royal College of Physicians celebrates its 500th anniversary in 2018, and to observe this landmark is publishing this series of ten books. Each of...

A brief history of the English civil wars
Our Price: £8.99
The English Civil War is one of the most hotly contested areas of English History and John Miller is one of the experts on the period. Amid dramatic a...
A concise history of modern Europe
Our Price: £23.95
Highlighting the key events, ideas, and individuals that have shaped modern Europe, this fresh and lively book provides a concise history of the conti...

A history of Venice
Our Price: £16.99
Renowned historian, and author of A Short History of Byzantium, John Julius Norwich's classic history of VeniceA History of Venice tells the story of ...
A people without a past
Our Price: £14.99
The second part in an epic historical trilogy - The Estonian answer to Wolf Hall - by the nation's greatest modern writer The year is 1563, and by any...

A perfect Cornish summer
Our Price: £8.99
Escape to Cornwall with this gorgeous new series from Phillipa Ashley - perfect for fans of Nicola May and Holly MartinSummer is on the horizon, and t...
A place of greater safety
Our Price: £10.99
From the double Man Booker prize-winning author of Wolf Hall, Bring Up the Bodies and The Mirror & the Light comes an extraordinary work of histor...

A short history of Russia
Our Price: £12.99
Can anyone truly understand Russia? Let one of the world's leading experts show you how, using the fascinating history of a nation to illuminate its f...
A single thread
Our Price: £14.99
FROM THE GLOBALLY BESTSELLING AUTHOR OF GIRL WITH A PEARL EARRING'Bittersweet … dazzling' Guardian'Deeply pleasurable … the ending made me cry' Th...

A steam preservation through Britain
Our Price: £19.99
Anthony Burton has travelled from the Highlands of Scotland, to the south west of England in pursuit of his passion for the steam engine in all its di...
After the flood
Our Price: £12.99
Children think we make them, but we don't They come into the world and make us. They make us by breaking us first. 'Moving refreshingly original' ...

Alston Moor, Cumbria
Our Price: £14.99
Alston Moor is a large rural parish in Cumbria which historically both depended upon and provided important services for the agricultural and mineral ...
American colonies
Our Price: £12.99
AMERICAN COLONIES starts with the earliest years of human colonization of the American continent and environs with the Siberian migrations across the ...

Bad girls
Our Price: £20.00
LONGLISTED FOR THE 2019 ORWELL PRIZE FOR POLITICAL WRITING'Davies's absorbing study serves up just enough sensationalism - and eccentricity - along wi...
Bad girls
Our Price: £10.99
LONGLISTED FOR THE 2019 ORWELL PRIZE FOR POLITICAL WRITING'Davies's absorbing study serves up just enough sensationalism - and eccentricity - along wi...

Belonging
Our Price: £25.00
SHORTLISTED FOR THE BAILLIE GIFFORD PRIZESelected as a Book of the Year 2017 by the Daily Telegraph, Mail on Sunday and Observer 'A glittering gemston...
Big ideas for young thinkers
Our Price: £14.99
The book for inquisitive children with big ideas and busy brains.Studies show that children ask caregivers 300 questions a day... This book teaches c...

x
This website uses cookies. More info. Okay